Itz Me Single Picks 3/30

Yeeeaaaaaaaaaah, I’m back with the coldest tracks of recent times. I actually couldn’t wait to make this one, almost put this out a day or so earlier, but I held on and found a lil more good hip-hop for you guys.

First of all we got this track from Kwes from the Shinobi of the 12 Tribes with MC Frost and SB. This beat by Fresco Stevens just sounds so smooth and soulful man. I actually had to go on a twitter rant about it. 90’s Nostalgia EP coming soon.

Next up, I’ve finally just gave into the folk fusion Aesop Rock got going on. I didn’t even have to warm up to this, it jammed on the first listen. And the story is an allegory for a greater meaning that I don’t totally understand yet, but it’s pretty sweet. It’s on some bob-your-head-from-side-to-side-singalong type music, but still Aesop spitting hard as usual. This dude is on the comeup something serious, and I’m feeling this Hokey Fright album is looking like a cop.

Another You remix is a tight midwest mashup with Kanye, Chip, and Gibbs. Real lax and jazzy song, and everyone does their thang on this. I’m really feeling Chip’s second verse on this jownt. Track is so groovy you forget it’s five minutes long. Take a good listen.

Freeway drops a song for hot new hip hop, and it fits cuz dude is spittin heat; even though I emphasize being cool on this site. Anyway, dudes flow and rhythm was mad catchy and he came up with a good hook. Beats kinda simple, but still jams though. Got that slow, epic, movie ending type sound to it. Great short song for HNHH, shouts out. Ya’ll better than Datpiff.

THIS. SONG. JAMS. I know I’m late, I missed this in my last single picks, but it’s so good I had to carry it over. Good that classic church chorus, gospel sounding beat that makes you wanna clap your hands in that same rhythm that you do every sunday. Then the beat switches up to this sad joint, which still has that gospel-ish sound to it with the organ. The beat fits the story of the song so well, and it sounds so good.

Leave a Reply

