Southern Movement

spic

Another one of my predictions have appeared to me. From the recent trend of what’s going on with southern rap, southern rappers, and their music I have came to a conclusion. There’s going to be a huge southern movement in hip-hop soon. Like, they’re gonna take over the game again for a little bit. This situation resembles an earthquake that shook waaaayyyyy out at sea that only I know about and it’s sending a tidal wave coming full speed at the rap game, but its still offshore so people are just like whatever and not noticing it or whatever.

I’m serious though, the driving force behind this movement, I’d have to say is Big K.R.I.T. In 2010 and 2011 Big K.R.I.T. had a big buzz with his mixtapes, they were pretty much on everyone’s top 5 lists for those respective years; and to me “Return of 4eva” was one of, if not THE best mixtape I’ve ever heard. Fast forward a little bit and K.R.I.T. has a little less buzz than he’s had before, I mean people are still messing with him he certainly hasn’t fell off, but he’s not as much of a huge factor. I feel this is going to change soon, because I’m sure this southern emcee is aware of the criticism of his last album. I believe that this guy feels he has something to prove. Why? Well have you heard his verse on “1 Train”? (and check this out) Among other songs. K.R.I.T. has been everywhere lately, almost on a “rise of 2chainz” level with his features. And not only has he been everywhere, he’s been doing damage, killing the majority of the tracks and if not still having the song to be quite impressive and that’s just his rapping. Before now, K.R.I.T.’s premiere attraction was the fact that he was a great producer, but right now his rapping is top notch and I really can’t think of anyone who’s been crashing tracks as well as him since this year started.

Aside from that Mississippi emcee you also have another one, Tito Lopez, who hasn’t reeeaaally been getting much buzz, but I can see him going in that direction with a rising star award from HHDX and a relatively known feature track with K.R.I.T. and Joker. The other southern states making a statement is the Carolinas. Rapsody is coming off the momentum of a very good and well-acclaimed album, in my experience it didn’t really get noticed much (definitely not like it should’ve been noticed), but it’s enough to put her in people’s mouths. Along with her, you have the internet sensation Don Dada, or Alpoko Don coming out with his album tomorrow. I’m really excited about that, but at the same time blown because I’m broke. Anyway, his project has incredible potential. Looking at his videos, Don has incredible composing skills, can make a great hook, do a good verse with wordplay concepts good cadence and all of that; so if he even meets a majority of that potential then he’s going to make huge splashes in this game. Lastly, from SC we have this group called OXYxMORON who I’ve pretty much been listening to nonstop since I’ve heard of them; and pretty much feel like I’ve been living under a rock for not having heard of them. These guys not only have amazing talent I see taking them far even without their recent “cosign” from The Needle Drop owner, Anthony Fantano who has a relatively large following on the internet. On top of all that, it seems like amazing producer, 9th Wonder is getting real chummy with his region.

Besides that it’s really just a lot of little stuff going on. A-town rapper, Killer Mike should also have a lot of momentum from his last album which was pretty much in everyone’s top 3 for last year. K.R.I.T. has been networking a lot if you use his Instagram and recent features as a reference. A lot of other southern hip-hoppers are also networking. I’m very interested to see if my prediction comes true, because it’s surely justified.

2 thoughts on “Southern Movement

Leave a Reply

