Classics You May Have Missed: Masta Ace – Disposable Arts

Along with Z-ro and classic west coast stuff (Tupac, Ice Cube, etc.) Masta Ace is one of the artists that amazed me enough to pursue a listening adventure in rap music. Ace sparked my curiosity initially with his song off of GTA: San Andreas (which I played almost daily one summer) called “Me & the Biz”. That song inspired my name (itzdadiabolical). But, to me Masta Ace is sort of an unsung legend of rap. I mean, people know who he is from that song and “Born to Roll”, “Sittin On Chrome”, Juice Crew, whatever, but nobody really talks about him like say: Nas, Jay-Z, Biggie, Big L, etc. Well I’m gonna talk about him and one of his classics.

Nowadays people are impressionable as far as concepts go, like with last year’s “Jesus Piece” and “GKMC”, but this album is an example of the same manner of concept album with great efficiency; except this was decade ago which makes it more impressive. One of hip-hop’s most celebrated emcees, Eminem, even cites Ace as a huge influence. All of that shows the impact it and albums like it has on today’s generation.

Masta Ace has a very conscious mindset in his songs, and is somewhat a jack of all trades or ace (couldn’t help it) with his rapping, and his songs had extensive replay value. He’s also quite the decorated storyteller. Songs like “Take A Walk” display this well, with its catchy hook and how he explains the hood in such vivid detail. Ace also has several songs on this album with conversations with him and a woman that also give insight on his narrating abilities. Another example of Ace’s genius is his brutal diss song to the High and the Mighty and Boogieman:

“Yea I heard of the boogieman when I was a youth, scary

then I found out that he was fake as the tooth fairy

since my last mission, this nigga’s been ass kissing

I took a minute, I gave your single a fast listen”

This album is just 19 all-around good rap songs, and it carried such power with them. This album single-handedly brought back the career of who was considered a “washed-up” emcee, single-handedly broke the trends of the time and influenced the future of rap greatly.

Also, go down and click the tag “Classics You May Have Missed” to see other underground classics and tell me what Classic Hip-hop albums you feel are underrated.

Leave a Reply

